Capital Planning Committee (CPC)

Senior leadership body responsible for land use and capital investment decisions for the Berkeley campus.

Chaired by the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost, the Capital Planning Committee (CPC) advises the Chancellor on campus land use decisions, capital investments, and project priorities. They assure that land use and capital investment decisions optimize the use of resources – both land and capital – to realize the campus vision for academic excellence and physical growth. The committee oversees the preparation of the campus Long Range Development Plan, the annual Capital Financial Plan, and oversees campus work with the City of Berkeley and other agencies on local plans that impact UC Berkeley. The CPC also oversees and formally approves the work of the Capital Renewal Committee and approves the annual Capital Renewal Program and funding levels.

Meetings and Membership

The CPC meets monthly and is supported by staff in Capital Strategies, with active collaboration from staff in Finance and Capital Asset Strategies, Academic and Space Planning, Facilities Services, and University Development and Alumni Relations.

For questions about CPC meetings and to contact current members, please email Judy Chess, Chief of Staff and Director of Capital Planning.

Current CPC Member Roster

  • Paul Alivisatos, Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost (CPC Chair)
  • Lisa Alvarez-Cohen, Vice Provost, Academic Planning
  • John Arvin, Associate Vice Chancellor, Capital Strategies
  • Paul Fine, Professor, Integrative Biology, and Chair, Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate's Academic Planning and Resource Allocation Committee (CAPRA)
  • Marc Fisher, Vice Chancellor, Administration
  • Julie Hooper, Vice Chancellor, University Development and Alumni Relations
  • Randy Katz, Vice Chancellor, Research
  • Oliver O'Reilly, Chair, Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate
  • Rosemarie Rae, Vice Chancellor, Finance and Chief Financial Officer
  • Steve Sutton, Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs
  • Jennifer Wolch, Dean, College of Environmental Design, and Chair, Design Review Committee